Disable Switch User button in Windows

Switch User button enables us to login into the already logged in system with different credentials. This is a great feature that helps us to login without logging out of the system. The biggest advantage of this is that we don’t need to close our documents and log off, as it saves the session currently in active state.

But in case you are a system administrator and want to disable this button so as to prevent this simultaneous login feature then here are the steps to do this. Disabling the button is very easy and just requires the admin rights on the system.

While this feature can be disabled in Windows XP using the User Accounts option present in the Control Panel, disabling the button in Windows 7 and Vista is not through that option as this option is not present in these OS. So here is how to disable the button if you are using Windows 7 and Vista OS.

Steps:
1. Open Run and type gpedit.msc and press enter

2. This should open the Group Policy Editor, now navigate to the following location in the editor
Local Computer Policy -> Administrative Templates -> System -> Logon

3. Here in the right side of the pane you should see an option “Hide entry points for Fast User Switching

4. Right click on this option and set it to Enabled.

Switch User button should now be disabled from the Windows login screen.

Leave a Reply