It’s always good to have friends, and if you have really good friends whom you can trust then you will never lose access to your Facebook account. That’s right! Now having good friends adds to security of your facebook account and ensures that you will never lose access to your account.
Facebook yesterday announced a new feature that is called as Facebook Trusted Contacts and as per this feature if you, anytime, happen to lose access to your account or if it gets locked then you can regain the access to your account just by seeking help of your trusted contacts. The contacts can be anyone who is in your friends list and someone whom you can trust. It is like trusting someone with an extra pair of key to your house.
How Trusted Contacts work:
“Trusted Friends” is an optional security feature that you can make use of and avoid answering the old forgotten security questions. You just need to add three to five trusted contacts in your account and if a lockout situation arises, they will be provided some security codes. Now you need to ask them the codes, who after verification will pass on the security codes to you. Using these security codes you can unlock your account.
How to Add Trusted Contacts:
You can add anyone from your friends list as a Trusted Contact by visiting the Security Settings on top right. When you are done selecting the Trusted Contacts, they will be notified that you have added them as your entrusted buddies.
I think this is a cool feature added by Facebook but if you still feel that this is not what you were looking for, then the old answering the security questions process is still there. [via]